Australia imposes sanctions on 14 Russian state-owned enterprises News
marselelia / Pixabay
Australia imposes sanctions on 14 Russian state-owned enterprises

Australia Thursday imposed financial sanctions on 14 Russian state-owned enterprises. These targeted sanctions are aimed at entities of “strategic and economic importance” to Russia. 

The sanctions have been imposed on electronic company Ruselectronics, transportation company Russian Railways, transportation company Kamaz, shipping company SEVMASH, and shipping company United Shipbuilding Corporation. Australia imposed the sanctions on these state-owned entities in order to increase economic pressure on Russia and to detract from Russia’s ability to continue funding the conflict in Ukraine.

On the sanctions, Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs Marise Payne said:

The Australian Government reiterates our unwavering support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, and for the people of Ukraine. We again call upon Russia to withdraw its military forces immediately from Ukraine.

These are the latest of Australia’s ongoing sanctions against Russia over its invasion of Ukraine. In early March, Australia imposed financial and travel bans on two Russian billionaires and more sanctions against 11 Russian banks and government entities. On March 20, Australia banned exports of alumina and aluminum ores to Russia. Last week, the country imposed additional financial sanctions and travel bans on 67 Russian individuals for their support of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.