COVID-19 Special Coverage
Colorado ‘defelonizes’ certain drug possession, allows businesses to permit social marijuana use
futurefilmworks / Pixabay
Colorado ‘defelonizes’ certain drug possession, allows businesses to permit social marijuana use

Colorado governor Jared Polis on Tuesday signed two new drug laws, one which lowers penalties for single-use possession of Schedule I and II substances and another that allows businesses to apply for licenses for social marijuana use.

Under the new House Bill 19-1263, possession of flunitrazepam, ketamine, cathinones, or a controlled substance listed in schedule I or II will be reduced from a level 4 drug felony to a level 1 drug misdemeanor. Possession of more than six ounces of marijuana or more than three ounces of marijuana concentrate will become a level 1 drug misdemeanor (previously a level 4 drug felony) and possession of three ounces or less of marijuana concentrate will become a level 1 drug misdemeanor (previously a level 2 drug misdemeanor). The bill also requires persons convicted of the level 1 drug misdemeanors to be punished by a sentence of up to two years probation, with up to 180 days in jail as a condition of or for a violation of probation, and a maximum $1,000 fine.

House Bill 19-1230, or the Marijuana Hospitality Establishments, allows businesses in the state to apply for licenses for social marijuana use areas. The bill authorizes consumption of marijuana on site at the licensed marijuana hospitality spaces. The bill also authorizes licensed sales establishments where retail marijuana may be sold and consumed on site at the establishment’s hospitality space.