JURIST >> WORLD LAW >> Sri Lanka 

Constitution, Government & Legislation | Courts & Judgments | Legal Profession | Law Schools
map courtesy CIA World Factbook; click for enlargement Constitution, Government & Legislation

Sri Lanka has a Republican form of Government. The current constitution was adopted in 1978. Universal suffrage began in 1931. The age of voting is 18 and above.

The executive branch consists of the President and a Cabinet of Ministers headed by the President. The President, who is elected directly by the people for a six-year term (maximum two terms), is Head of the State and Head of Government. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President from among the Members of Parliment.

The legislature is called Parliament and consists of 225 representatives (from whom Ministers are appointed by the President). The Members of Parliament (or MP's) are elected for 6 year terms at periodical General Elections through a system of proportional representation.

The Sri Lankan Parliament is a unicameral assembly.

Source: Government of Sri Lanka

Courts & Judgments

Sri Lanka's judiciary consists of a supreme court, a court of appeals, a high court, and a number of subordinate courts. Sri Lanka's legal system reflects diverse cultural influences. Criminal law is fundamentally British. Basic civil law is Roman-Dutch. Laws pertaining to marriage, divorce, inheritance are communal.

Source: U.S. Department of State

Legal Profession

Law Schools