President Benjamin Harrison signed law granting Idaho statehood


On July 3, 1890, US President Benjamin Harrison signed the Idaho Admission Bill [PDF] into law, making Idaho the forty-third state admitted to the Union. Idaho became a territory in 1863 following the signing of an act of Congress by President Abraham Lincoln. At that time, the Idaho Territory consisted of all of present day Montana and part of Wyoming. A delegation of Idahoans wrote a state constitution on July 4, 1889, that was ratified by popular vote on November 5 of that same year. The inclusion of Idaho as a state was part of a rapid inclusion of western states in the US. Six days later, President Harrison signed a bill admitting Wyoming into the Union. The year prior, he had signed legislation admitting Montana, Washington, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Learn more about Idaho from the JURIST news archive.


Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.