President Roosevelt established two forest reserves

On June 3, 1905, US President Theodore Roosevelt established the Payette Forest Reserve and the San Juan Forest Reserve. Under Section 24 of the Forest Reserve Act of 1891, President Roosevelt had the authority to establish forest reserves by public proclamation "in any State or Territory having public land bearing forests," regardless of that land's commercial value. Proclamation 566 established the Payette Forest Reserve in Idaho. In 1908, President Roosevelt combined portions of the Payette Forest Reserve and other forests to create the Boise National Forest. Proclamation 567 established the San Juan Forest Reserve in Colorado. The 1.4 million acre reserve later became the San Juan National Forest.

Learn more about legal issues surrounding the environment from the JURIST news archive.


Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.