North Carolina voters approved gay marriage ban

On May 8, 2012, North Carolina voters passed a constitutional amendment that banned same-sex marriage, bringing the number of states with constitutional amendments banning same-sex marriage to thirty-one. Since then, Maine, Maryland and Washington have voted to legalize same-sex marriage. In April 2013, the Rhode Island legislature voted to legalize same-sex marriage in that state.

Read an overview of Same-Sex Marriage in Features.


About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.