Oklahoma governor signed three anti-abortion bills into law

On April 5, 2010, Oklahoma Governor Brad Henry signed three anti-abortion bills into law, all of which became effective immediately. SB 1890 prohibited abortions performed as a result of the gender of the fetus, SB 1891 protected medical employees who refused to participate in abortion procedures because of their religious beliefs and SB 1902 regulated mifepristone (a chemical used in abortion procedures). SB 1890 and SB 1902 were new iterations of previous measures that the Oklahoma State Supreme Court and a state court had struck down. Republican majority state legislatures have followed suit with even more restrictive abortion measures in North Dakota, Arkansas, Kansas, Georgia, Montana and Arizona.

Read an overview of Reproductive Rights in Features.


Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.