JURIST Supported by the University of Pittsburgh

Today in legal history...

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Lakotah Nation declared independence from the US
Kyle Webster at 12:00 AM ET

On December 19, 2007, leaders of the Lakota people, a part of the Sioux Nation, traveled to Washington and withdrew from the Treaty of Fort Laramie of 1851 and the Treaty of Fort Laramie of 1868, forming the independent Republic of Lakotah. These two treaties gave areas of the Black Hills in North Dakota, South Dakota and Nebraska to the Sioux, including the Lakota. This was rescinded by an act of Congress in 1877 when gold was discovered in the area. The declaration of independence by the Lakota is viewed as legally permissible under the United Nations Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties of 1969 [PDF].

Flag of the US

Learn more about indigenous rights from the JURIST news archive.

Link post | IM post | go to JURIST | © JURIST, 2012


 President Theodore Roosevelt calls for dissolution of trusts
December 3, 2016

 UK parliament passed Statute of Westminster
December 3, 2016

 click for more...


Add This Day at Law to your RSS reader or personalized portal:
  • Add to Google
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Subscribe with Bloglines
  • Add to My AOL


Subscribe to This Day at Law alerts via R|mail. Enter your e-mail address below. After subscribing and being returned to this page, please check your e-mail for a confirmation message.
MyBlogAlerts also e-mails alerts of new This Day at Law entries. It's free and fast, but ad-based.


This Day at Law welcomes reader comments, tips, URLs, updates and corrections. E-mail us at archives@jurist.org