JURIST Supported by the University of Pittsburgh

Today in legal history...

Sunday, September 23, 2012

US boycotted nuclear test ban treaty
Kimberly Bennett at 12:00 AM ET

On September 23, 2005, the US completed a three day boycott of a UN conference aimed at encouraging countries to sign the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty [PDF]. The treaty was adopted on September 10, 1996, but has yet to be entered into force, as not all nuclear-able states have ratified it. India, Pakistan, North Korea, Vietnam and Iran joined the US in boycotting the UN talks. The US signed the treaty but has not ratified it. Debate surrounding the US stance on the treaty continues to be an issue in domestic and international politics.

Flag of the UN

Learn more about nuclear non-proliferation in the JURIST news archive.

Link post | IM post | go to JURIST | © JURIST, 2012


 Spain adopts modern constitution
December 6, 2016

 13th Amendment ended slavery in the United States
December 6, 2016

 click for more...


Add This Day at Law to your RSS reader or personalized portal:
  • Add to Google
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Subscribe with Bloglines
  • Add to My AOL


Subscribe to This Day at Law alerts via R|mail. Enter your e-mail address below. After subscribing and being returned to this page, please check your e-mail for a confirmation message.
MyBlogAlerts also e-mails alerts of new This Day at Law entries. It's free and fast, but ad-based.


This Day at Law welcomes reader comments, tips, URLs, updates and corrections. E-mail us at archives@jurist.org