New Hampshire same-sex civil unions law took effect

On January 1, 2008, New Hampshire became the fourth state in the United States to recognize same-sex civil unions when the state's legislation took effect. The law allows same-sex couples to enter into civil unions with the "same rights, responsibilities, and obligations as married couples." The legislation was signed into law by New Hampshire Governor John Lynch in May 2007. Currently, six additional US states grant civil unions, including Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Iowa, Massachusetts, New York, and Vermont. Similar legislation and lawsuits have addressed the issue of civil unions in several other states, such as Rhode Island, Hawaii, Illinois and Wisconsin.

Learn more about New Hampshire and the laws governing civil unions from the JURIST news archive.


Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.