JURIST Supported by the University of Pittsburgh

Today in legal history...

Tuesday, December 06, 2011

Austria became second country to ban cluster munitions
Cynthia Miley at 12:00 AM ET

On December 6, 2007, the Austrian Parliament passed legislation that established a complete ban on cluster munitions. Austria was the second country to institute such a ban after Belgium, which banned cluster munitions in February 2006. In May 2008, more than 100 countries adopted a draft treaty to ban the use, manufacture and stockpiling of cluster munitions at the Dublin Diplomatic Conference on Cluster Munitions. The resulting Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) [PDF] opened for signature in December 2008 and officially took effect in August 2010. Despite international pressure, the US has consistently rejected the call to completely ban cluster bombs, citing the possibility of discouraging cooperation with non-signatories and military impracticalities.

Learn more about cluster bombs, and read commentary on the Dublin Diplomatic Conference on Cluster Munitions from JURIST Guest Columnist David Kaye in Forum and commentary on the CCM from JURIST Guest Columnist Thomas Nash in Hotline.

Link post | IM post | go to JURIST | © JURIST, 2011


 William the Conqueror invades England, leading to major legal and political reform
September 28, 2016

 President Millard Filmore signed bill banning flogging in the navy
September 28, 2016

 President Millard Filmore signed bill banning flogging in the navy
September 28, 2016

 click for more...


Add This Day at Law to your RSS reader or personalized portal:
  • Add to Google
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Subscribe with Bloglines
  • Add to My AOL


Subscribe to This Day at Law alerts via R|mail. Enter your e-mail address below. After subscribing and being returned to this page, please check your e-mail for a confirmation message.
MyBlogAlerts also e-mails alerts of new This Day at Law entries. It's free and fast, but ad-based.


This Day at Law welcomes reader comments, tips, URLs, updates and corrections. E-mail us at archives@jurist.org