UN named Bhutto assassination commission members


On June 19, 2009, the UN announced the official creation of an independent, three-member commission to investigate the assassination of former Pakistani prime minister Benazir Bhutto. The commission was headed by Chilean Ambassador to the UN Heraldo Munoz. The other two members were Marzuki Darusman, former attorney general of Indonesia, and Peter Fitzgerald, a former deputy police commissioner in the Irish National Police. The creation of the commission came after a call for a full UN investigation by UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon. Bhutto was killed in a suicide attack in December 2007 while she was the head of the opposition Pakistan People's Party, which was challenging President Pervez Musharraf's Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid in the lead-up to parliamentary elections. Musharraf consistently rejected any UN investigation, despite calls for inquiry by Bhutto's husband and Musharraf's successor, Asif Ali Zardari.

Benazir Bhutto

Learn more about the assassination of Benazir Bhutto from the JURIST news archive.


About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.