JURIST Supported by the University of Pittsburgh

Today in legal history...

Tuesday, October 05, 2010

US House voted to divide the Ninth Circuit
Dwyer Arce at 12:00 AM ET

On October 5, 2004, The US House of Representatives voted 205-194 to divide the US Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. The legislation would have left California, Hawaii, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands in the circuit while placing Arizona, Nevada, Idaho and Montana in a new Twelfth Circuit, and Alaska, Oregon and Washington into the Thirteenth Circuit. The legislation was passed to ease the rapidly-increasing caseload. Despite passing in the House, the amendment, which was attached to a larger bill authorizing 58 new federal judgeships, failed to pass in the Senate.

Learn more about the Ninth Circuit from the JURIST news archive.

Link post | IM post | go to JURIST | © JURIST, 2010


 Peace Palace opens
August 28, 2016

 Civil rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered "I Have a Dream" speech
August 28, 2016

 click for more...


Add This Day at Law to your RSS reader or personalized portal:
  • Add to Google
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Subscribe with Bloglines
  • Add to My AOL


Subscribe to This Day at Law alerts via R|mail. Enter your e-mail address below. After subscribing and being returned to this page, please check your e-mail for a confirmation message.
MyBlogAlerts also e-mails alerts of new This Day at Law entries. It's free and fast, but ad-based.


This Day at Law welcomes reader comments, tips, URLs, updates and corrections. E-mail us at archives@jurist.org