Canada enacts Official Languages Act

On July 7, 1969, Canada enacted the Official Languages Act, which made French and English the country's official languages. As such, French was made equal to English in the Canadian government.


Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.