European Community established

On January 1, 1958, the European Community (EC), the predecessor to the European Union (EU) was created when the Treaty of Rome officially went into effect. This represented the culmination of efforts, since the end of World War II, to closely tie the nations of Europe as a way of preventing future wars. The original members were France, West Germany, Belgium, Italy, The Netherlands, and Luxembourg, but the EC has since expanded to become the EU, encompassing most of Europe in the fifty years since its creation.

Learn more about the early development of the EC from 1945 through 1959.


About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.