Columbia recognizes Panama

On January 5, 1909, Colombia recognized Panama as an indpendent nation. With support from the U.S., Panama had achieved de facto independence from Columbia in 1903. Panama had twice declared independence from Columbia before in 1830 and 1840 but was defeated each time and re-occupied by Colombian forces. Finally, pro-independence forces declared separation from Columbia in 1903, while the Colombian military was kept at bay by the American Navy.

Learn more about the history of Panama and its modern independence.



About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.