28 countries unite against Axis Powers

On January 2, 1942, twenty-eight countries formally agreed not to make peace with the Axis Powers separately. At the time, all twenty-eight were fighting against the Axis as Allies in World War II. The agreement was part of the Declaration of the United Nations, signed the previous day.

During the preceding December of 1941, U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt had referred to this group of allies as the "United Nations".


Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

About This Day at Law

This Day at Law is JURIST's platform for legal history, highlighting interseting and important developments that shaped the law and the world.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.