JURIST Supported by the University of Pittsburgh

Today in legal history...

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

USSR established
JURIST Staff at 12:01 AM ET

On December 30, 1922, representatives of Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and the Transcaucus approved the Treaty on the Creation of the USSR and the Declaration of the Creation of the USSR, creating the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR). During World War II, the USSR would also annex Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia and Moldova.

Learn more about the history of the USSR from the BBC.

Link post | IM post | go to JURIST | © JURIST, 2009


 Civil Rights Act of 1875 became law
March 1, 2015

 Communist spy Klaus Fuchs sentenced to 14 years in UK prison
March 1, 2015

 click for more...


Add This Day at Law to your RSS reader or personalized portal:
  • Add to Google
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Subscribe with Bloglines
  • Add to My AOL


Subscribe to This Day at Law alerts via R|mail. Enter your e-mail address below. After subscribing and being returned to this page, please check your e-mail for a confirmation message.
MyBlogAlerts also e-mails alerts of new This Day at Law entries. It's free and fast, but ad-based.


This Day at Law welcomes reader comments, tips, URLs, updates and corrections. E-mail us at archives@jurist.org