A Collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh

Trump significantly limits entry into US from eight nations

[JURIST] In a Proclamation [text] issued late Sunday, US President Donald Trump [official profile] identified eight countries that have failed to cooperate in information sharing activities to the extent the administration deems necessary to protect US security interests. The affected countries are:

  1. Chad
  2. Iran
  3. Libya
  4. North Korea
  5. Syria
  6. Venezuela
  7. Yemen
  8. Somalia
Subject to limitations and exceptions also identified in the proclamation, nationals of the eight identified countries are prohibited from entering the US.

It may take a minute to parse the entire order, but a few things are worth noting at the outset:

  1. This was issued as a presidential proclamation and not an executive order. There will doubtless be discussion of whether there is a difference and, if so, what that difference is.
  2. The eight countries at issue here are not the same as the seven Muslim-majority countries identified in the president's earlier executive order limiting immigration. Notably, six of the eight countries identified here are Muslim-majority.
  3. The proclamation provides, at Section 3, for exceptions for, inter alia dual nationals, those traveling on diplomatic missions, and permanent US residents, thus providing a level of clarity that was missing from the earlier executive action.

About Paper Chase

Paper Chase is JURIST's real-time legal news service, powered by a team of 30 law student reporters and editors led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. As an educational service, Paper Chase is dedicated to presenting important legal news and materials rapidly, objectively and intelligibly in an accessible format.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.